Nytt från Debora

Six months now that I am in Sweden, who would have believed it !!!

I survive the snow and the minus degrees.

One of the things I enjoy the most about here in Sweden is that there are special days for eating pastries and I really like that habit.

Gothenburg is a cosmopolitan city with a large number of French people among a multitude of other nationalities. It’s a more dynamic city than I pictured it during the first few months I landed. There are always interesting activities or cultural events.

 

 

The area where I spend most of my free time is on the side of Jarntorget, it’s my favorite neighborhood. There are some restaurants including ”Le Pub” which is not so Frenchy but at least they do a very good rissotto :). we can also find bars, concert halls and show and two three cinemas. You may have guessed it but I spend time there especially in the evening. Saturday afternoon I go to the art museum and I drag in the section of French artists.

My sister and a Friend came for the christmas holidays, it was great, very funny. We visited Oslo ( the transportation to go in the country around Sweden is cheap compare to France).

Some time I hang out with my Swedish  teacher, she always has funny earring. She  is nice.

 

As for work, I’m not going to lie the beginning was not easy especially because of the language I think. Today it is much better, it is an instructive environment on the personal level, I learned a lot about me (about the person I thought I was and who I really am.

Must of the time,  I play a lot ping pong ”pingis” in Swedish and skip-bo (I think I have an addiction for this game). A few days ago we went seeing an ice hockey match. It was a first for me and I validate it 100%. we went to the bowling my team didn’t win but anyway it was great, one of the kid in the other team made like 5 strike :/ .

What more can you say? A lot. But it will be for the next time.

Det kom ett mail från Linnea och Ellinor

De vill dela med sig av sitt EVS äventyr i Italien. Här kommer deras berättelse.

”Casa di Alice”

  

  

En förskola där vi jobbar med barn mellan 1-3 år. Vi tar hand om, leker och sköter alla busiga barn.

  


”Pedibus  Ludoteca”

 

På eftermiddagarna hämtar vi barn i 6-10 års åldern i skolan och går tillsammans med dem till ”ludoteca” som motsvarar ett fritids i Sverige. På fritidset hjälper vi barn med engelskaläxor, hänger och umgås.

 


Livet i Italien

  

 

Vårt övriga liv i Italien består till stor del av många nya kulturupplevelser, god mat och mycket interaktion med nya människor.

  

Hälsningar Linnea och Ellinor

 

First Entry in the EVS Log – Fjället

Hello,

My name is Gonçalo Carita, I’m a 25 years old volunteer from Portugal. I’m doing an EVS Program in Sweden, at Kooperativet Fjället.

Why am I doing an EVS Program? Glad You asked. I needed a new challenge in my life, and the opportunity of becoming a volunteer seemed to be the right decision, I’ll be able to grow as a Person with this experience. I arrived in Sweden on 25th of October 2017. I was ready to start my new life as a volunteer. The first week and a half was the settle down period. For me was something completely different, the Language and what I was supposed to do. I’m quite a shy person, so having to work and interact with kids and youth was going to be a challenge. Started speaking with the kids to let them know who I was and what I was doing here, but for them was weird to see a new person just wondering around the place, and they are shy as well. As the days passed, I was more comfortable with the kids and started doing some activities with them such as, Playing Ping-Pong, Playing card games like UNO and 4 in a row.

In my second week, we went to Liseberg, an Amusement Park in Gothenburg, for Halloween. I had a good time there even though I had to ride rollercoasters which I completely hate… I don’t like heights ok? But Liseberg was the turning point in my experience here in Sweden. I talked a lot with the kids who went there and it was the opportunity for them to know me.

One day Sven showed me the attic, some years there.

 

 

I’ve been to the Portuguese Club in Gothenburg, which was a good help to settle down in this new country and to know some more people outside of work. I’ve been to the city a few times and I can say I really enjoyed.

 

In General, it was a really good month. The people I work help me whenever they can so I have nothing to say against them. Hoping the new months will be like this or Better.

Gonçalo